The Carnegie Medal 2019

The Carnegie Medal was established in 1936 by the British Library Association. This literary award is conferred annually by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in recognition of one outstanding new English language book for children or young adults.

Valerie Grove writes in So Much to Tell (2010):

“Eleanor (Farjeon)’s modesty about her own excellent qualities was famous. Her charming story collection The Little Bookroom, illustrated by Ardizzone, became a Puffin and won several prizes including the Carnegie Medal (1955). Resisting publicity, Eleanor refused even to be photographed; when a hapless reporter rang and asked what she looked like, Eleanor replied, “Like a cheerful suet pudding.” And was her hair now silver? “No dear, it’s gunmetal.” She turned down a damehood: she did not wish to be “any different from the milkman” “.

Alison Flood reported for The Guardian on 18th June this year:

“Dominican-American slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo has become the first ever writer of colour to win the UK’s most prestigious children’s books award…one of her students, Katherine, wouldn’t read any of the books Acevedo offered her, telling her: “None of these books are about us.”

…”…she was afraid to push the boundaries,” Acevedo said…I wanted to be really close to those feelings and show the everyday magic and beauty that quiet folks can hold.” “.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s